Top 10 Christmas Movies

In case you have somehow managed to not notice, Christmas is coming. “Why, it’s practically here!” If you’re not in the Christmas spirit yet, here are my top 10 favourite holiday movies of all time to get you in the mood to celebrate!

10. Muppet’s Christmas Carol

There are, perhaps, more refined versions of this tale. Great actors have played the parts of Scrooge and the various ghosts over the years, and maybe I should give them more credit. But the fact is, this is my favourite version of the classic Dickens’ tale. I find that the constant retelling of this story makes it fall a little flat at times, but the humour and oddity of the muppets makes the story come alive again for me.

9. Elf

You’d have to be quite a krampus not to enjoy this movie. Buddy the elf is adorable and his blind, unwavering, child-like enthusiasm for Christmas and the wider world is contagious.

8. RED

I know, I know. It’s not strictly a Christmas movie. But like Die Hard, it is set around Christmas, so that counts! Right? It totally counts. Sometimes you just need a break from all the super bright happiness of Christmas movies, and this combines just the right amount of cute with the right amount of explosions. You will want to be Helen Mirren in this movie, guaranteed.

7. Arthur Christmas

This was one I just discovered earlier in the year (thanks Netflix!), and I’ve got to say… I kinda love it. If you haven’t seen this one, it’s about an old Santa’s misfit son who is determined to deliver a gift to a little girl after it was forgotten at the North Pole on Christmas Eve.  Arthur is so relatable, as are his entire family, and the whole operation of Christmas is so uniquely conceptualized. This is one I’ll still be watching in years to come.

6. Christmas with the Kranks

Okay, I’ll admit it, I haven’t actually read the book this is based on. Shame on me. However, if the book is half as good as the movie, I’m sure I’d love it. The message of “Christmas is about the people, not the stuff” is refreshingly uncheesy here, as a couple attempts to get out of Christmas despite the horror of their neighbors at the idea. If you’ve ever been shocked at your credit card statement at the end of December, this flick is for you.

5. The Santa Clause

Involving a reluctant Santa Clause, an ugly sweater-sporting psychiatrist, and that guy from Numbers (remember that show?) cast as a grumpy head elf, there’s a lot to love about this.  And, to top it off, the sequels aren’t even that bad! It’s good for a Christmas movie marathon that just keeps on giving.

4. Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer

I think this is one of the first Christmas movies I can remember watching when I was little. The music is classic, the stop-motion puppets are kind of awe-inspiring when you think about it, and the characters are still just as lovable. It’s absolutely not Christmas yet, until you’ve rewatched this.

3. A Charlie Brown Christmas

Did you know that Charlie Brown is supposed to be five years old? He’s too adorably depressed to be five! This film is cute and straightforward in all the right ways. You really can’t beat the dancing scene, or Snoopy in… well, every scene. This is a movie to watch on a cold night to warm up your heart.

2. White Christmas

I don’t know how I managed to get into my teens without seeing this. Starring a lot of the greats from the 50’s, it’s the birth place of the christmas carol of the same name, which has always been a favorite of mine. It’s got fantastic acting, funny subplots and a genuine warmth to it that doesn’t feel too forced or obvious. This is a great one to watch when all the extended family is there- even the old farts have to like this one!

1. How The Grinch Stole Christmas (1966)

The real life version is not a bad movie in itself, but the animated version is definitely my personal favorite. It’s a classic. It rhymes. It’s heartwarming and clever. It is everything I want in a christmas movie, and more. Don’t skip this one, whatever you do!

Is there a movie I missed? Let me know in the comments!

One thought on “Top 10 Christmas Movies

Leave a Reply

